Provisions of the
Abandoned Infant
Protection Act

Frequently Asked Questions

New York State’s Abandoned Infant Protection
Act is intended to save the lives of unwanted
newborns by allowing a person who abandons
an infant to avoid criminal liability. The person
must, however, act in a safe manner that will
not result in physical harm to the infant.

This law first went into effect in July 2000 and
was amended in August 2010. The amendments
removed criminal liability for the crimes of Aban-
donment of a Child and Endangering Welfare of a
Child when a parent, guardian, or other legally
responsible person abandons an infant under
the following conditions:

1) The abandoned infant is no more than 30 days
old;

2) The person who abandons the infant intends
that the infant will be safe from physical injury
and cared for appropriately;

3) The person leaves the infant with an appro-
priate person OR leaves the baby in a suitable
location and immediately notifies an appropriate
person of the infant’s location; and

4) The person must intend to wholly abandon
the infant by relinquishing responsibility for
and rights to the care and custody of the infant.

1-866-505-SAFE

(1-866-505-7233)

What does “suitable location” mean?

A “suitable location” is not defined in the law.
However, hospitals, staffed police stations,
and staffed fire stations have long been con-
sidered to be suitable locations.

We recommend contacting your county district
attorney for further information on what other
places might be suitable locations in your area.

What does “appropriate person” mean?

“Appropriate person” is not defined in the law.
Generally, it refers to a member of the profes-
sional staff or other responsible person at the
location where the infant is being left.

If someone leaves an infant with me,
what should | do?

Do the same things you would do if this law
did not exist:

» If the infant is in distress or otherwise in need
of medical care, secure medical attention imme-
diately.

» If there are no obvious medical problems, we
recommend that you contact your county depart-
ment of social services (in New York City, the
Administration for Children’s Services) and advise
them that you have received an abandoned infant.
They should be prepared to take custody of the infant.

P [f it is outside of normal business hours and the
local department of social services does not have
24-hour staff coverage, contact the New York
Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse and
Maltreatment (child abuse hotline) at 1-800-342-
3720 and advise them that you have just received
an abandoned infant. The hotline staff will notify
the on-call child protective services staff, who will
take custody of the infant.

Does this Law affect my responsibilities
as a mandated reporter of suspected
child abuse or maltreatment?

No. Any abandonment of an infant is always
reportable as suspected child abuse or maltreat-
ment. Police officers, hospital staff engaged in the
admission, examination, care or treatment of patients,
and all other mandated reporters are still required
to fulfill their legal responsibilities as mandated
reporters and report the abandonment.
Mandated reporters should call the New York
Statewide Central Register of Child Abuse and
Maltreatment (child abuse hotline) at 1-800-342-
3720, whether or not they have the name or
identifying information for the infant or the person
who abandoned the infant. The unknown parties
will be listed on the report as unknown persons.

If someone leaves an infant with me,
should | get a name or other identi-
fying information?

A person who abandons an infant in a manner
that complies with this law is not required to give
his or her name. The Abandoned Infant Protection
Act offers anonymity to encourage those people
who abandon their newborn infants to do so in a
safe manner.

What is meant by “referrals”?

They can call the OCFS toll-free Abandoned
Infant Helpline at 1-866-505-SAFE (7233) for
referrals, information regarding “suitable locations”
where a baby can be left, or contact information for
their local department of social services.



NEw | Office of Children The

Help for parents in crisis YORK

If a prospective or new parent needs crisis STf‘TE and Family Services Aba n don ed I nfa nt

counseling, pregnancy counseling,
or mental health services,

the following numbers may be helpful: Pf’OtECtiOh ACt:

. National Suicide Prevention Lifeline: “...promoting the safety, permanency and well-being

1-800-273-TALK (1-800-273-8255) of our children, families, and communities... .”
* National Runaway Switchboard:
1-800-RUNAWAY (1-800-786-2929) Capital View Office Park
» 2-1-1 (Referrals, available in many areas 52 Washington Street
statewide) Rensselaer, NY 12144
» 3-1-1 (Referrals, New York City only) ?]/tltsﬂ./(/)urfwebsne at:
* LIFENET (for mental health referrals in R-TOCIS.Ry-gov
New York City): For information on safe places to leave
1-800-LIFENET (1-800-543-3638) (English) an infant under (e Abandoned Infant
1-877-AYUDESE (1-877-298-3373) (Spanish) L
1-877-990-8585 (Korean, Mandarin, 1-866-505-SAFE (1-866-505-7233)
Cantonese) For information about child care,
1-212-982-5284 (TTY/TDD for hearing foster care, or adoption, call:
impaired) 1-800-345-KIDS (1-800-345-5437)

* Planned Parenthood: 1-800-230-PLAN

(1-800-230-7526) To report suspected child abuse and

www.plannedparenthood.org ?_eég(ljgcg 402612:720
* Parent Helpline at Prevent Child 1-800-638-5163 (TTY/TDD)

Abuse New York: 1-800-CHILDREN

For information on services for the blind,
(1-800-244-5373)

call:
The Adoption Option 1-866-871-3000
If someone abandons an infant in a manner 1-866-871-6000 (TTY/TDD)
that complies with the law and that person
expresses, interest in placing the infant for
adoption, put her/him in touch with the
local county department of social services
(in New York City, the Administration for Children’s
Services) or with a private (authorized volunta = =
adoption) agency. P ( ry) Pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act, G u I d e I I n es fo r
the New York State Office of Children and Family Services
Contact information for these can be found in will make this material available in an appropriate format
a telephone directory or at the OCFS website at: upon request. H ea Ith an d Safety
http://locfs.ny.gov/adopt/agcymenu.asp Pub. 4749 (Rev. 10/2016)
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