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Background Information 
 

The purpose of this release is to advise social services districts that in order to obtain 
Family Type Homes for Adults (FTHA) certification, applicants and operators of Family Type 
Homes for Adults must prove that they have obtained Workers’ Compensation and disability 
benefits coverage, or that such coverage is not required under New York State Worker’s 
Compensation Law. 
 

Section 461-b(2)(a) of Social Service Law (SSL) allows approval to operate an adult care 
facility such as a FTHA only to an operator who satisfactorily demonstrates that any license or 
permit required by law for the operation of such facility has been issued to such operator. Section 
460-e(l) permits the New York State Office of Children and Family Services (OCFS) to require 
an operator of a Family Type Home for Adults to provide such information and records in such 
form and at such times as this Office shall determine for the purpose of establishing and 
maintaining such facilities. 
 

The New York State Workers’ Compensation Law Section 57 and Section 220.8 of the 
Disability Benefits Law requires that prior to issuance of a certificate to operate a Family Type 
Home for Adults by the SOCFS, the applicant/operator must submit proof that the operator has 
obtained the required workers’ compensation and disability benefits insurance coverage for any 
substitute caretakers in the operator’s employ, or that the operator is not required to provide such 
coverage. This law applies both to issuance of new certificates and renewal of such certificates. 
 

The information in this release addresses the requirements necessary for operators and 
districts to comply with these laws and submit the required documentation to OCFS to obtain an 
operating certificate. 
 

Workers’ Compensation and Disability Benefits Coverage Requirements 
 
a. Who Must be Covered 
 

The New York State Workers’ Compensation Board has determined that Workers’ 
Compensation Law requires workers’ compensation insurance overage for any Family Type 
Home for Adults employing “substitute caretakers.” Workers’ Compensation Law requires that 
all workers in this industry must be covered by workers’ compensation insurance coverage 
regardless of the number of hours worked, the workers' relationship to the owners, or whether 
workers are “volunteering” their services for the family business. Since under Social Services 
Law only natural persons may operate a Family Type Homes for Adults, the only exclusion that 
may be made for Workers’ Compensation and Disability Benefits is a family type home owned 
by one individual with no employees. 
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b.  Liability for Operators
 

Under Section 26-a of the Workers’ Compensation Law, employers who do not obtain 
appropriate workers’ compensation insurance coverage may be personally liable for the 
following: 
 

•  paying an assessment of $250 for each claim incurred while uninsured, plus 15% of the 
amount awarded (minimum $1,500 - maximum of $5,000); 

 
•  paying the actual award, including both compensation and medical costs; 
 
•  any penalties the Workers’ Compensation Board assesses for noncompliance. There is a 

series of penalties for noncompliance with the Workers’ Compensation Law, including 
a $250 penalty for every l0 days without the required coverage. 

 
Activities Required to Comply with 

Workers’ Compensation and Disability Benefits Law
 
a.  District Responsibilities
 

1)  Family Type Home Coordinators or other local district staff who are involved in the 
FTHA program certification or renewal process must become knowledgeable about 
the provisions of this release to ensure that the required Workers’ Compensation and 
Disability Benefit Insurance coverage certification accompanies each Family Type 
Home for Adults application which they submit to the OCFS. 

 
2)  Social service districts must inform FTHA applicants and operators of Workers’ 

Compensation and Disability Benefit certification requirements prior to certification 
or renewal of Family Type Homes for Adults operating certificates. 

 
No operating certificate will be issued without proof of Workers’ Compensation 
Insurance as required by the Workers’ Compensation Board being forwarded to the 
social services district. 

 
b.  Operator Responsibilities
 

1)  To comply with coverage provisions of the Workers’ Compensation Law Disability 
Benefits Law requirements, Family Type Home operators must: 

 
-  be legally exempt from having to obtain worker’s compensation insurance 

coverage; 
 
-  obtain such coverage from insurance carriers; or, 
 
-  be self insured. 
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b.  Operator’s Responsibilities, Continued
 

2)  Family Type Home applicants requesting certification or certified operators 
requesting renewal of their certificates must provide one of the following forms to the 
local district with their application. The Workers’ Compensation form must 
accompany the districts’ submission of the application to the New York State Office 
of Children and Family Services: 

 
•  C-105.21 Statement that Applicant Does not Require Workers’ 

Compensation Nor Disability Benefits Coverage; (see Attachment I to this 
release) 

 
OR 

 
•  C-105.2 Certificate of Workers’ Compensation Insurance (Attachment II) 

- AND -     DB 120.1 Certificate of Disability Benefits Insurance 
(Attachment III); 

 
OR 

 
•  SI-12 Certificate of Workers’ Compensation Self-Insurance (Attachment 

IV) or GSI-12 Certificate of Group Workers’ Compensation Self-
Insurance      - AND -      DB-155 Certificate of Disability Benefits Self 
Insurance (Attachment V) 

 
For those operators insured by the State Insurance Fund, it is acceptable for districts 
to receive a computer generated form, U26.3, in the place of prescribed form C-105.2 
(sample attached, see Attachment VI). 

 
3)  Operators may obtain forms from the New York State Workers’ Compensation Board 

District Offices: 
 

Albany   (518) 486-3349 
Binghamton  (607) 721-8333 
New York City  (718) 802-6890 
Buffalo   (716) 847-6890 
Hempstead  (516) 560-7742 
Rochester   (716) 238-8335 
Syracuse   (315) 428-4455 

 
4)  Applicants for Approval or Operators of Family Type Home for Adults who have any 

questions regarding Section 57 of Workers’ Compensation Law or Section 220.8 of 
the Disability Benefits Law should call the New York State Workers’ Compensation 
Board, Bureau of Compliance at (518) 486-6307. 
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The requirement to submit a certificate of Workers’ Compensation and Disability 
Benefits Insurance coverage with all new and renewal applications is effective immediately. 
 

In the future, the Application for Approval FTHA (DSS-2865) will be revised to indicate 
that certification of Workers' Compensation and Disability Benefits insurance coverage is a 
required document for all new and renewal applications. 
 

No Family Type Home for Adults operating certificate will be issued without proof of 
Workers’ Compensation and Disability Benefits Insurance coverage effective immediately. 
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