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Division of Child Care Services 

 
P O L I C Y     S T A T E M E N T 

 

ID NUMBER:  02-2 

 

TOPIC: Distance Learning 

 

MODALITIES IMPACTED:  DCC, SACC, FDC and GFDC 

 

APPLICABLE REGULATIONS:  Title 18 of  New York State Codes of Rules and 

Regulations § 414.14, 416.14, 417.14, 418.1.14, 418.2.14 

 

CONTACT:  Regional Office  

 

EFFECTIVE:   Immediately 4-10-02    (Updated 7-31-2008) 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 
THIS POLICY STATEMENT IS EFFECTIVE IMMEDIATELY AND CANCELS ALL PREVIOUS 

MEMOS OR STATEMENTS ON THIS TOPIC. 

 

The Office of Children and Family Services (OCFS), Division of Child Care Services is 

responsible for all activities related to the regulation of child day care providers, 

including family day care homes, group family day care homes, day care centers and 

school-age child care programs. 

 

Because the Quality Child Care and Protection Act requires each regulated child care 

provider to complete 30 hours of training during her/his registration/licensing period, the 

OCFS acknowledges that providers may wish to expand their opportunities for training 

by accessing distance learning offerings.  "Distance learning" is a term used to describe 

forms of instruction that do not include face-to-face interaction.  Studies show that 

courses taught using distance learning methodologies result in equivalent test scores, job 

performance, attention, attitude and learner satisfaction when compared to courses taught 

face-to-face. A subsequent study concluded that distance learning instruction was most 

effective when students were technologically literate, knowledgeable about the content, 

persistent and highly motivated. Given the increasing prevalence of technology in homes 

where child care is being provided and recognizing that many child care providers have 

expanded their available work hours so that service is being provided during "non-

traditional" timeframes, it is clear that options for training need to be available for 

providers who cannot attend sessions that are scheduled during a "traditional" workday.  

 

To that end, "distance learning" training which is accomplished through instruction and 

interaction between the instructor and the child care provider ("student") will be allowed 

and recognized if the following criteria are met: 
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(1) All students must complete all of NYS' required training topics, some of      

which are New York State-specific (e.g., statutes and regulations pertaining to 

child abuse and maltreatment identification and reporting and child care 

regulations); therefore, to the extent relevant, the student must obtain 

documentation that the course accurately references New York State statutes 

and regulations.  

(2) Any credit bearing course offered by an accredited college or university 

which addresses topics required by NYS regulations will be accepted as long 

as the student documents that credit was earned and can provide verification 

of the accreditation of the college program.   In addition, the student must be 

able to produce the course description (as provided by the college or 

university) and a syllabus to confirm that the content was related to and 

satisfied the topic requirements.  For credit-bearing courses, OCFS will 

consider 1 credit equivalent to 15 hours training in the topic area(s) with the 

understanding that each provider is still required to complete all the mandated 

topics.  

(3) Any non-credit bearing course that is taken either on-line or via 

correspondence must have the potential for valid interaction between the 

instructor and the student.   The potential for valid interaction shall mean that 

the student must have the ability to contact an instructor by phone, email or in 

person to discuss training materials.    The student must maintain a record of 

the course curriculum and all documentation validating their successful 

participation in the distance learning course. Course outlines must be 

submitted to the licensor/registrar to substantiate that the material satisfied 

one or more of NYS' required topics.   

(4) When it is determined that a provider has a compliance deficit with regard to a 

particular program topic, it is appropriate for the licensor/regional manager to 

be very directive in the type of training that the provider take as part of a 

corrective action plan.  If it is believed that the specific issue is not responsive 

to a distance learning approach, there is nothing in this policy statement that 

overrides the regional managers authority to specify training, including 

format, to be taken as part of a corrective action plan.  

 

Summary: 

 

Providers are not required to pursue training using a distance-learning format but may 

choose to fulfill NYS requirements in this manner if the required topics are completed. 

Providers are expected to pursue required training only during times when they are not 

providing child care. Given the nature of when child care is provided to New York's 

working families, a provider's choice of distance learning courses is not restricted (i.e., 

NOT limited to 15 hours of the 30 hours required during the licensing/registration period) 

as long as the regulatory requirements and criteria previously cited are completed.  It is 

strongly recommended that providers vary their methods of receiving training and not 

rely solely on distance learning methodologies to achieve their requirements.  In addition, 

while it is not required, providers choosing to avail themselves of distance learning 



 3 

options are strongly encouraged to seek approval of the distance learning program 

BEFORE committing their time and finances towards the program.  

 

The educational materials necessary to document program syllabus/course content can be 

submitted to the appropriate regional office licensing staff who will forward the 

documents to the Professional Development Program at the State University of New 

York (SUNY PDP).  SUNY PDP will review the submitted curriculum.  If the training 

course meets the criterion set forth above and satisfies training content requirements,  

SUNY PDP will approve the course. It will then be added to the website listing 

containing approved distance learning courses. The number of hours to be granted will be 

based on the description of the course and documentation provided by the sponsoring 

organization concerning the amount of time the course work typically requires. SUNY 

PDP will evaluate the course description and time it takes to complete the training 

exercises and arrive at an hour equivalent.  

************************************************************************  

Approved By:   Date: 7-31-08 

 
 

 

Janice M.  Molnar Ph.D. 

Deputy Commissioner 

Division of Child Care Services  

 

 

 

 

 

 
 


